It’s tough to put Jamie Tran’s journey on Top Chef season 18 into words. After all, the Las Vegas chef had the quirky habit of expressing her feelings and techniques via a series of weird noises, helping her stand out quickly. But standing out isn’t always good, as seen by her finishing in the bottom of the first elimination challenge. Luckily, her overcooked turkey didn’t mean her goose was cooked, and she rallied immediately to win the next Quickfire Challenge. After that initial misstep, Jamie was able to find her footing, remaining comfortably in the competition until this latest episode. Ultimately, it was a group trip to the movies that proved to be Jamie’s undoing. Tasked with creating a dish around a comedy film, she decided to make simple chicken wings at the request of her team. She continued that group mentality at the challenge, decreasing her desired fry time despite her wishes. The comedy dish was no laughing matter to the judges, who felt the wings lacked Jamie’s usual bold flavors and were difficult to eat in the drive-in setting. And it was the final reel for Jamie’s film, as she was asked to leave the cinema and the competition. Read on to hear Jamie’s thoughts on her time in the game, and check out Last Chance Kitchen to watch her and other eliminated chefs fight for redemption and a chance to get back into the competition. What compelled you to apply for Top Chef, especially in the middle of the pandemic when things are so hard on the restaurant industry? I have always had anxiety when it comes to cooking competitions, so being on Top Chef was never something that crossed my mind. But, when the producers called me, my restaurant (The Black Sheep) was shut down due to the pandemic, and my staff and friends pushed me to get out of my comfort zone. I wanted to show them that if I can do this, they can do anything they put their minds to. I also wanted to shine a light on off-the-Strip chefs and restaurants here in Las Vegas. You called yourself a very “unique” cook, and you weren’t afraid to show it with the noises you would make on the show. How did the other chefs and judges react to that? The contestants and judges loved my noises and thought they were really funny! Chef Dawn Burrell even began calling me “The Sunshine,” and Chef Tom Colicchio said I needed my own show. I think the noises helped liven the competition up and made us all a little less serious. You finish in the bottom of the first Elimination Challenge, something you admitted you kicked yourself over. How did facing elimination so quickly change your outlook on the competition? Finishing in the bottom motivated me to push myself harder! I didn’t want to be in the bottom again, and it lit a fire in me to try my absolute best in the upcoming competitions. How did winning the very next Quickfire Challenge get you out of that funk? Winning gave me such a confidence boost and proved to me that I could be a good competitor on the show. Let’s get to the drive-in challenge that eliminated you. You mentioned Gabriel can be very strong-willed. Talk to me about your team dynamic. Gabriel is strong-willed, but so is every chef! We all run our own restaurants and kitchens, so it’s like doing a project with a bunch of leaders. With that, I always try to be more of a team player since every group needs both in order to achieve success. You admitted you weren’t completely satisfied making chicken wings again but wanted to do so for the team. What made you decide to go with the group over the individual? I wasn’t satisfied with the chicken wings. But as I mentioned, I was trying to be a team player. Avoiding drama is very important to me. It seems like you were against your team’s recommendation to fry the wings less during service. Can you talk more about that, and how that contributed to the final product? I felt that we should’ve fried the wings longer since any starch that’s under-fried becomes gummy when you add sauce. They didn’t agree with me, so I went with the thought process of “majority rules.” Were you surprised to be eliminated over Shota and Gabriel? To be honest, I wasn’t. I knew in my gut that I would be eliminated. Nothing was lining up that day, so I prepared myself mentally. You mentioned how much you’ve grown during your time on Top Chef. What’s the thing you learned most during your time in Portland? I learned how to manage my anxiety better, which is something I wasn’t expecting. Doing this competition was so far out of my comfort zone, and getting through it showed me that I can take on anything. Participating in Top Chef really changed my perspective on life, and I am grateful for that. Are there any links or recommendations on how to help yourself and other chefs during this time? If you’re a Vegas local or visiting, make sure to try some off-the-Strip restaurants! We have a fantastic culinary scene with so many talented chefs, and it’s an important time to support local businesses after such a difficult year. Next, check out our interview with Kiki Louya, who was eliminated in Episode 4.

Top Chef Season 18   Jamie Tran Exit Interview - 86