We’re so happy to see the Duchess of Sussex grace our screens again, seeming happy and healthy after giving birth to her daughter Lilibet Diana at the start of June. Meghan turns 40 today, and to mark the occasion she released a skit with comedy superstar Melissa McCarthy that aims to encourage people to give 40 minutes of their time to help out women who are re-entering the workforce. The 40x40 project was launched on the website for Archewell—Meghan and Prince Harry’s charitable foundation—with the slogan ‘Time is a Gift.’ In the video, Meghan can be seen chatting to Melissa via a laptop propped up on a stack of copies of Meghan’s children’s book, The Bench. Behind her desk is a massive stone fireplace, while Meghan looks radiant in a white tank top and cosy white cardigan. Beyond the windows is a glimpse of the lush grounds that surround the Sussexes’ California home—and dozing on a dog cushion in the background is none other than Meghan’s rescue beagle, Bogart! Hilariously, Melissa dressed up to the nines for her chat with Meghan, donning a massive hat, lace gloves, a floral gown, and pearls fit for a royal wedding—completing the look was a dash of scarlet lipstick and a delicate china cup of tea and matching saucer. “It’s my fortieth birthday and I’ve got an idea,” Meghan says. “I know what it is,” Melissa replies. “My first guess, it’s another photoshoot under a tree where you’re looking very peaceful.” (Referring, of course, to the Sussexes’ announcement that they were expecting Lili, with Meghan lying under a tree with her head in Harry’s lap.) “Peaceful under a tree is me every day,” Meghan says. Melissa also guesses that Meghan’s birthday wish is matching tattoos for both of them, holding up a depiction of Meghan and Melissa’s faces surrounded by a heart-shaped wreath of roses and the words ‘Besties Forever.’ With Meghan diplomatically declining this suggestion, Melissa continues to guess. “Are you finally going to do a Suits reunion?” she asks, with a confused Meghan replying, “I love Suits, but why would I do a Suits reunion for my birthday?” Melissa shrugs. “Why would the cast of Friends do a reunion for my birthday? But they did it.” Meghan goes on to reveal what she really wants for her birthday. “Because I’m turning 40,” the duchess says, “I’m asking 40 friends to donate 40 minutes of their time to help mentor a woman who’s mobilizing back into the workforce. “Over two million women in the US alone and tens of millions around the world have lost their jobs due to COVID. And I think if we all do it, and all commit 40 minutes to some sort of active service, we can create a ripple effect.” Melissa agrees enthusiastically before adding, “Is it okay if I still do it in the hat?” “I wouldn’t expect anything less,” the Duchess of Sussex replies. Going into more detail in a statement on her website, Meghan writes, “In reflecting on my 40th birthday and the many things I am grateful for, I’m struck that time is among our greatest and most essential gifts: Time with our loved ones, time doing the things we love, time spent learning, laughing, growing, and the sacred time we have on this earth. “Amongst the most valuable gifts of time is also time spent in service to others knowing that it can contribute to incredible change. To that last point, and with my 40th lap around the sun in mind, it made me wonder: what would happen if we all committed 40 minutes to helping someone else or to mentoring someone in need? And then what would happen if we asked our friends to do the same?” Describing how women have been left “shouldering the brunt of the crisis when it comes to unpaid labor”, Meghan also cites research that shows how “fewer women than men will regain work as we recover from the pandemic.” She goes on, “I believe mentorship is one way to help women regain confidence and rebuild their economic strength, and for my birthday, I have asked 40 friends, activists, athletes, artists, and world leaders to help kickoff a global effort by contributing  40 minutes of mentorship to support women re-entering the workforce. With this time, I hope they each help someone advance a professional life on her own terms, and, I hope that they inspire countless others to give 40 minutes of their time as well. “If you are able, please join us and pledge 40 minutes today in service of others in the way that feels right to you. The time that you donate can contribute to a global wave of service and set in motion meaningful impact in our own communities, and across the world.” Next up, Here’s Why Prince William Doesn’t Wear a Wedding Ring

Meghan Markle Birthday Video  Watch It Here - 68