“If I could handpick a girl from the stars [for Justin], it would be Hailey,” Bieber’s manager Alison Kaye admitted in Justin Bieber: Seasons. “She was the kind of girl I wanted him to be with.” Bieber feels the same. “I fall more in love with you every day,” he gushed of Baldwin on Instagram. You have walked hand and hand with me as I continue to get my emotions, mind, body and soul intact! You have given me so much strength, support, encouragement and joy. I just wanted to publicly honor you, and remind you that the best is yet to come!" Young love is so sweet, isn’t it? Follow the evolution of Justin Bieber and his wife Hailey Baldwin’s relationship.

2009: Justin Bieber and Hailey Baldwin meet

Baldwin and Bieber first met in 2009 through their parents: Her father, actor Stephen Baldwin, was friends with Bieber’s mom, Pattie Mallette. “I was never a superfan, of him or of anyone. It was never that crazed, screaming thing. I didn’t think about it in any kind of way except for the fact that he was cute,” she later insisted to Vogue. “Everybody had a crush on him. But for the first few years we had a weird age gap.”

February 2011: Hailey Baldwin attends Justin Bieber’s Never Say Never premiere, once again with her dad

Despite claiming to not be a super fan of Bieber, Baldwin attended the premiere of Bieber’s 3D concert film, Never Say Never, in 2011 with her dad. The same year, she tweeted quite a bit about how Bieber and then-girlfriend Selena Gomezwere essentially couple goals.

November 2014: Hailey Baldwin joins Justin Bieber and Kendall Jenner at church

Baldwin is spotted joining Bieber and mutual pal Kendall Jennerat Hillsong Church services.

December 2014: Justin Bieber and Hailey Baldwin deny dating rumors

Baldwin tells E! Newsshe and Bieber are just friends. Bieber issues a denial of his own on Instagram.

January 2015: Hailey Baldwin and Justin Bieber keep hanging out

Baldwin wished Bieber’s followers a happy New Year, and her presence didn’t go unnoticed—there was a lot of speculation about whether she was Bieber’s midnight smooch. They were also spotted getting cozy at a Los Angeles Clippers game with pals including Jenner, who documented the moment on her own Instagram account.

February 2015: Hailey Baldwin insists she and Justin Bieber are just platonic pals…again

Baldwin shot down rumors that she and Bieber were an item, telling E! News, “We’re just friends. I’ve known him for a very long time, since I was about 13.” She added, “He’s just going through a time in his life where he’s transitioning in a really positive way and he needs good people around him. And I’m trying to be a good friend and be there for him and support him.” Still, she acknowledged that the speculation would probably never end, no matter what she said. “But any male in his place, any girl that’s around him they automatically assume. That’s the world we live in,” she said. “I’m just trying to be there for him and support him as a friend.”

December 2015: Hailey Baldwin closes out the year with Justin Bieber once more

Bieber posted a video to Instagram giving Baldwin a wet willy. Gross, but also cute.

January 2016: Justin Bieber shares a photo kissing Hailey Baldwin on New Year’s Day

The photo, likely taken in the wee hours, shows Bieber planting a big ole’ wet one on Baldwin. That’s a confirmation that they’re together, right? Well, not quite.

February 2016: Hailey Baldwin and Justin Bieber make it clear that they aren’t exclusive, but they’re in love

On Feb. 11, 2016, GQdropped a profile of Bieber in which he discussed his somewhat complicated love life, including the nature of his relationship with Baldwin. He told the magazine that Baldwin is a “friend” that he kisses, later adding that she is “someone I really love. We spend a lot of time together.” He explained that because of touring life and there always being “women around,” it was hard for him to settle down in an exclusive relationship. “I don’t want to put anyone in a position where they feel like I’m only theirs, only to be hurt in the end. Right now in my life, I don’t want to be held down by anything,” he said. “I already have a lot that I have to commit to. A lot of responsibilities. I don’t want to feel like the girl I love is an added responsibility. I know that in the past I’ve hurt people and said things that I didn’t mean to make them happy in the moment. So now I’m just more so looking at the future, making sure I’m not damaging them. What if Hailey ends up being the girl I’m gonna marry, right? If I rush into anything, if I damage her, then it’s always gonna be damaged. It’s really hard to fix wounds like that. It’s so hard…I just don’t want to hurt her.” While this sort of arrangement certainly isn’t for everyone, Bieber’s honesty is pretty refreshing. The same day, Baldwin told E! News, “We are not an exclusive couple. He’s about to go on tour. Relationships at this age are already complicated, but I don’t really like to talk about it because it’s between me and him.” She also said she thought Bieber’s interview was “awesome.”

Summer 2016 to March 2018: Justin Bieber and Hailey Baldwin call it quits

Within six months of their gushing about one another, Bieber and Baldwin were over. He moved on, first with model Sofia Richie, then with ex Gomez. Baldwin would later say of this period, “We went through a long period of time when we weren’t friends. We didn’t speak for quite some time, and there was a lot of weirdness that went on. We’ve moved past that.” She elaborated to Vogue, “Negative things happened that we still need to talk about and work through. ‘Fizzled’ would not be the right word—it was more like a very dramatic excommunication. There was a period where if I walked into a room, he would walk out.”

May and June 2018: Hailey Baldwin and Justin Bieber are back on

Bieber and Baldwin were photographed getting hot and heavy in May and June 2018, though neither confirmed a reconciliation nor a relationship publicly. Baldwin would later explain to Vogue that their mutual faith was what led to reigniting the flame. “The common denominator, I promise you, is always church. By then we were past the drama. I just gave him a hug. By the end of the conference, he was like, ‘We’re not going to be friends.’ I was like, ‘We’re not?’” Bieber, it seems, had something more serious in mind.

July 2018: Justin Bieber and Hailey Baldwin get engaged

Bieber and Baldwin were spotted all over New York City, including in the Hamptons, where their Mercedes Benz broke down: Days later, on July 7, 2018, Bieber and Baldwin announced their engagement on Instagram. Bieber wrote a gushing post about Baldwin full of Biblical references: “Was gonna wait a while to say anything but word travels fast, listen plain and simple Hailey I am soooo in love with everything about you! So committed to spending my life getting to know every single part of you loving you patiently and kindly,” he began. “I promise to lead our family with honor and integrity letting Jesus through his Holy Spirit guide us in everything we do and every decision we make. My heart is COMPLETELY and FULLY YOURS and I will ALWAYS put you first! You are the love of my life Hailey Baldwin and I wouldn’t want to spend it with anybody else. You make me so much better and we compliment [sic] each other so well!! Can’t wait for the best season of life yet!” He continued, “It’s funny because now with you everything seems to make sense! The thing I am most excited for is that my little brother and sister get to see another healthy stable marriage and look for the same!!! God’s timing really is literally perfect, we got engaged on the seventh day of the seventh month, the number seven is the number of spiritual perfection, it’s true GOOGLE IT! Isn’t that nuts? By the way I didn’t plan that, anyways My goodness does feel good to have our future secured! WERE GONNA BE BETTER AT 70 BABY HERE WE GO!” Bieber closed with, “‘He who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains FAVOR from the Lord!’ This is the year of favor!!!!” In a since-deleted tweet, Baldwin wrote, “Not sure what I did in life to deserve such happiness but I am so utterly grateful to God for giving me such an incredible person to share my life with! No words could ever express my gratitude.” Days later, Bieber shared a steamy hot tub photo with Baldwin, leading many in the comments (including John Mayer) to wonder: Who actually took this picture? They also had a great time in the Big Apple (and showing off her rock).

September 2018: Justin Bieber and Hailey Baldwin legally elope at a New York City courthouse

TMZwas the first to report that Bieber and Baldwin got married in a Big Apple courthouse ceremony, but the couple planned to still eventually have a wedding in front of loved ones and God, as they’re both pretty religious. Baldwin told The Cut at the time, “I just picture lights strung everywhere. I think having it in the woods would be so beautiful.” She added that she wasn’t worried about marrying young, explaining, “My sister was 24 when she got married, and my parents also got married when they were young, too. I see no reason to wait. When you know it’s right, it’s right.” Baldwin’s father later confirmed to Access Hollywoodthat they did, in fact, tie the knot.

November 2018: Hailey Baldwin becomes Hailey Bieber

Though they didn’t make any official public statements, Baldwin and Bieber made it clear on social media that she was a taken woman: She changed her Instagram handle from @haileybaldwin to @haileybieber, and changed her bio name to “Hailey Rhode Bieber.” Beliebers were, predictably, emotional about this.

December 2018: And (dog) baby makes three

The Biebers welcome puppy Oscar into their family.

February 2019: Hailey and Justin Bieber cover Vogue and go into detail about their lives as newlyweds

Justin Bieber joined wife Hailey on the March 2019 cover of Vogue, where they opened up about marriage, which Hailey lamented was “really effing hard.” Justin explained that he had trust issues about being used, and that he’d struggled with sex addiction and substance abuse to cope with fame. As a result, he and Hailey waited until marriage to have sex…and were honest that part of their rushing to elope was so that they could consummate their union. Additionally, they argued a lot in the early days of their marriage, in part because of their different ways of approaching the world: They each describe Justin as emotional and Hailey as logical. “Fighting is good. Doesn’t the Bible talk about righteous anger? We don’t want to lose each other. We don’t want to say the wrong thing, and so we’ve been struggling with not expressing our emotions, which has been driving me absolutely crazy because I just need to express myself, and it’s been really difficult to get her to say what she feels,” Justin lamented. Hailey, who described Justin as her “best friend,” also felt lonely in the early days of her marriage, missing her parents and feeling like she was in competition with the world because she felt like no one wanted her relationship with Justin to last. “I prayed to feel peace about the decision, and that’s where I landed. I love him very much,” she said. “I have loved him for a long time.”

March 2019: Justin Bieber opens up further about his physical and mental health struggles

Following his admission to battling sex addiction and substance abuse in Vogue, Justin admitted on Instagram in a series of posts that he was struggling with his mental health once more and planned on spending time focusing on himself and getting better before getting back to work making music or performing. The same month, Justin defended his marriage to Hailey from haters in his comments section who insisted he was using the model just to make ex Gomez jealous. “Why would I dedicate my whole life to someone in marriage to get back and [sic] my ex? I absolutely loved and love Selena she will always hold a place in my heart,” he wrote. “But I am head over heels with my life and she is absolutely the BEST THING that has ever happened to me period.” It wasn’t all doom and gloom, though—Hailey posted a photo from a yacht, so clearly the couple found some time to have fun.

July 2019: Hailey Bieber marks their engagement anniversary

Hailey captioned a cute Instagram photo with Justin on a mountain, writing, “1 year ago I said yes to being your best friend for life, and today I have never loved you more.. life gets more beautiful everyday because of you, my heart belongs to you forever. Here’s to learning and growing together.”

August 2019: Invitations for Hailey and Justin Bieber’s second, bigger wedding leak

TMZobtained an invitation to the Biebers’ second wedding in South Carolina, scheduled for Sept. 31, 2019. Around the same time, Justin posts a “wifey appreciation day” message to Hailey on Instagram. Cute!

September 2019: Hailey and Justin Bieber get married again—and expand their family

Days before the wedding, they welcomed two new additions, cats Sushi and Tuna, and Justin posted some cute throwbacks of his first meetings with Hailey. In the weeks following their wedding, the Biebers each posted some sweet photos of the big day.

October 2019: Justin Bieber and Hailey Bieber make their music video and modeling debuts as a couple

Justin features on Dan + Shay’s hit “10,000 Hours,” and Hailey appeared with her new hubby in the music video. They also appeared together in their own Calvin Klein underwear campaign. Just couldn’t stop gushing about his wife on Instagram, and even got crafty to honor her.

November 2019: Justin Bieber honors Hailey on her birthday

Hailey turned 23 Nov. 22, 2019. Justin posted a sweet Instagram to celebrate her and hinted that he wanted to start a family soon.

December 2019: The Biebers celebrate their first Christmas and New Year’s Eve as a married couple

Hailey marked her first Christmas as a married woman with a cute series of photos with Justin. https://www.instagram.com/p/B6hBBZRlBMG/ Justin posted a photo of the couple in a sunny place for New Year’s Eve. https://www.instagram.com/p/B6wVNrBHBKW/

January 2020: Justin Bieber rings in the New Year with Hailey once more

Years after their first midnight kiss together, Hailey and Justin rang in 2020 together again. https://www.instagram.com/p/B6xFgFkFS4y/ Later that month, they enjoyed a date night at an arcade. On Jan. 27, 2020, an episode of Justin Bieber: Seasons dropped on YouTube in which Justin and Hailey detailed their relationship, breakup and eventual marriage. “When I was young, I always wanted a family, I always wanted to be married,” Justin said. “That was always high on my list. But I didn’t know it would happen, so I’m really pumped about it. I’m really happy about it. I have the sickest chick in the game!” He later added that he thinks Hailey is the only person who could put up with him. “It all happened really fast and kind of all at once, but you know, him and I have known each other for so long that there’s a part of it that didn’t feel scary.” They each admitted that they still get a little nervous when the other is in the room. Justin’s best friend and business partner, Ryan Good, said he thinks the secret to their success as a couple is Hailey “probably [having] a lot of patience.” Justin’s team revealed that she has a significant influence on his music, and the singer confessed that he at times got antsy working in the studio when she was around because he felt pressure to impress her. Hailey said in a confessional, “He was the first person I ever had real feelings for. When things kind of went south for a little bit and we went our separate ways, I just knew that no matter what the outcome was going to be, he was going to be someone I loved for the rest of my life, no matter what. He was always going to have a special place in my heart.” Also in January 2020, Justin revealed he was diagnosed with Lyme disease. In a since-deleted Instagram post, Justin explained that his physical and mental health, as well as his appearance, were extremely affected by the illness, and that he was undergoing medical care to treat it. After he endured criticism from trolls, Hailey rushed online to defend her man.

February 2020: The PDA continues, stronger than ever

On Feb. 11, 2020, Hailey shared more photos from her and Justin’s September 2019 wedding. Justin posted several photos fawning over Hailey: An episode of Justin Bieber: Seasons documenting their big day was also released this month, providing a sweet look at their rehearsal and behind-the-scenes moments from their wedding and its leadup, including a tearjerking exchange when Justin asks his father, Jeremy, if he’s proud of him. “I know where we were, and I know where we are,” Hailey said, “and I feel like I know where we’re going.” On Feb. 28, 2020, Hailey appeared on The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon, where she revealed the party trick that she thinks won Justin over and got them back in touch.

March 2020: Justin Bieber turns 27 as the world descends into the coronavirus pandemic

On March 1, 2020, Justin posted a photo with wife Hailey, declaring her his birthday gift this year. https://www.instagram.com/p/B9Mg7cTHRPf/ Two weeks later, the couple posed in swimwear for Polaroids: https://www.instagram.com/p/B9xTGeLnlCr/ By March 18, 2020, social distancing guidelines had finally taken hold in the United States and Canada. The Biebers didn’t mind much, as Justin posted a photo smooching Hailey with the caption, “My quarantine partner.” https://www.instagram.com/p/B95CHcsHoAS/

April 2020: Love on lockdown continues

Justin and Hailey continued their lovefest as the COVID-19 pandemic plagued the world, maintaining their senses of humor in the new normal.

May 2020: The Biebers televise their love and Hailey makes her second music video appearance

In early May 2020, The Biebers on Watch debuted, chronicling the couple’s ups and downs. In one segment, Hailey reminisced about her and Justin’s first kiss. “The first time we kissed, we were in New York and we had gone to dinner together,” she said, noting that they dined on sushi. “I called my parents to ask them if I could go and they said no. They were like, ‘Absolutely not, you’re not going to hang out with Justin by yourself, that’s not happening.’” Hailey’s big sister, model Alaia Baldwin, came to her rescue. “My older sister kind of covered for me and was like, ‘Oh yeah, she’s gonna sleep over at my apartment and it’s all good,’” Hailey said. “She covered for me and we went to dinner and didn’t get caught. We were just hanging and we went back to watch a movie and we kissed!” On May 11, 2020, Justin Bieber and Ariana Grande released their duet “Stuck With You,” with proceeds going toward COVID-19 relief causes. Justin and Hailey get cozy in the music video, as do Grande and her beau Dalton Gomez and Demi Lovato and boyfriend Max Ehrich, Gwyneth Paltrow and Brad Falchuk, and Kendall and Kylie Jenner. Later that month, Hailey revealed on Hillsong’s Catching Up With Natalie & Hailey that she was happy they waited a year between getting legally married and having a big wedding because they’d been through and grown so much in their year. She also said her mom was sure that Justin was “her person,” even when Hailey was uncertain about it.

June 2020: Summer lovin’, having a blast

In June 2020, Justin and Hailey mostly lied low, posting support of the Black Lives Matter movement instead of their own lives, but Bieber found time to honor his wife June 26 with a throwback photo of Hailey performing ballet.

July 2020: Summer heats up and so do the Biebers

In mid July 2020, Justin posted a series of photos with wife Hailey, captioning one, “I still can’t believe u chose me!!” Need more cute celeb coupledom? Check out Dax Shepard and Kristen Bell’s love story.

Justin Bieber Wife Hailey Baldwin Relationship Timeline and Wedding - 27