This past March the Five-time Grammy winner and Grammy Hall of Fame inductee announced his stage four lung cancer diagnosis. According to his representatives, Thomas passed away from lung cancer complications at his home in Arlington Texas. Born Billy Joe Thomas in Hugo Oklahoma, he first rose to prominence when he was in his early twenties and sang a gospel cover of “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry” by Hank Williams. By 1976, “(Hey Won’t You Play) Another Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song” and “Home Where I Belong” sold millions of records. “Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head” was in the film Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid and even won an Oscar for Best Original Song. Thomas was known for his distinctive voice and sold more than 70 million records. He is survived by his wife, Gloria Thomas, who he married in 1968 and their three daughters. Married at The Chapel of The Bells in Las Vegas just before “Hooked On A Feeling” became a hit, Thomas  always credited his family for his great success. “We’ve always had each other, even through the hard, wild, stupid, crazy times,” he said on his website about Gloria. “She was just right there for me, and I’ve been there for her, too. If there’s anything that got me to today it was having her.” When reflecting on his journey Thomas shared on his website that he had wonderful life. “I’ve been a husband and a father who cherishes his children and now I’m a grandfather,” he wrote. “And I’m motivated like all these teachers and preachers and mothers and fathers to help my kids grow up with character and self-respect.” Then he added, “I hope that doesn’t sound too grandiose, but that’s what it comes down to,” wrote Thomas. “It’s what I’ve tried to do with my music and with the majority of my life.” Next, sad movies to watch on Netflix right now.

Hitmaker B J  Thomas Dies At 78 - 26