In a new sneak peek clip from this week’s Red Table Talk episode on Facebook Watch, Panettiere, 33, recalled being given a “happy pill” on the red carpet, which she says contributed in part to her battle with addiction.  “Somebody who was on my team that I was working with came to me, and it was before this red carpet and I had been doing Heroes and we did press all the time and I was a little low-energy,” the actress told Red Table Talk hosts Jada Pinkett Smith and Adrienne Banfield Norris, who were also joined by guest host, Kelly Osbourne.  “It was, ‘Here, take one of these, it’s a happy pill, it’ll give you energy,’ so I didn’t think of it at the time as a bad thing or a drug,” the Nashville star recalled of being given the pill, which she now believes to be “similar to an Adderall,” a prescription stimulant.  Noting that the person who gave her the drug acquired it from Mexico, Panettiere said, “I should have thought, “That’s so sketchy,’ but I didn’t because I trusted the person.”  “It did give me that little bit of energy and I didn’t feel like, high and out of control, but I did feel happy and like I was looking forward to doing interview, yes,” she explained.  The Scream 4 alum then recalled asking for more pills “for personal use,” when someone else on the team “found out and let me know how bad that was.”  Earlier this year, Panettiere opened up about her addiction to opioids and alcohol, telling People in July, “I was on top of the world and I ruined it.”  “I would have the shakes when I woke up and could only function with sipping alcohol,” she stated of her lowest point, which eventually led to her entering a rehab facility for eight months where she was eventually able to “get over the hump” of her addiction.  “It’s an everyday choice, and I’m checking in with myself all the time,” she said of her ongoing recovery at the time. “But I’m just so grateful to be part of this world again, and I will never take it for granted again.”  More Pop Culture:

Thora Birch on the Real Reason She Won’t Appear in ‘Hocus Pocus 2’

Publix Hurricane Cakes Go Viral Ahead of Florida Storm

Nancy Cartwright Goes Through the Drive-Thru as Bart Simpson