“I ran from myself for a long time, hating myself for a long time, and…I’m gay,” he told Robin Roberts on Good Morning America. “And I came to terms with that earlier this year and I have been processing it. And the next step in all of this was sort of to let people know. I’m still nervous, but it’s been a journey for sure.” Colton, 29, previously told PEOPLE that rumors about his sexuality started when he was in high school. “It was one of those things where you hear something so often, you start believing it. I thought, maybe I am gay. The captain of the football team should be having sex and drinking, right? But I wasn’t," he said at the time. Colton also said on the GMA interview that he had “suicidal thoughts” over his sexuality. “There was a moment in L.A….I woke up, and I didn’t think I was going to wake up,” he said. “I didn’t have the intentions of waking up—[but] I did. For me, that was my wake-up call of, like, ‘This is your life. Take back control.’ You know, driving my car close to a cliff, like, ‘Oh, if this goes off the cliff, it’s not that big of a deal.’ I don’t feel that anymore.” Now, Colton said he’s “the happiest and healthiest I’ve ever been in my life—and that means the world to me.” Producers of The Bachelor released the following statement after the news: “We are so inspired by Colton Underwood’s courage to embrace and pursue his authentic self. As firm believers in the power of love, we celebrate Colton’s journey in the LGBTQIA+ community every step of the way.” Colton’s news raises a lot of questions about his time on The Bachelor, The Bachelorette and Bachelor in Paradise. Here’s what you need to know.

When was Colton Underwood The Bachelor?

Colton was on The Bachelor in 2019, after making it to the top four of Becca Kufrin’s season of The Bachelorette. He was the first “virgin Bachelor,” with the show placing a huge emphasis on the fact that he had never had sex before. “I am a virgin, but that’s just a small part of who I am,” he said in one promo. “I’m here to fall in love so, hopefully by the end of this, I’ll be down on one knee.” In another clip, show host Chris Harrison said, “You could lose your virginity this week,” with Colton answering, “sexual intimacy is a big part of any relationship.”

Who did Colton Underwood pick on The Bachelor?

The end of Colton’s season was dramatic. He ultimately picked Cassie Randolph, who had decided to leave the show before the final rose ceremony. When she left, Cassie said that she didn’t feel that she was ready for an engagement. Colton, clearly upset, climbed a fence and ran off to be alone afterward. When show producers brought him back, he ended things with finalists Hannah Godwin and Tayshia Adams. Then, he sought out Cassie, told her he wanted to give their relationship another chance—even if she wasn’t willing to get engaged—and the two eventually left the show as a couple. Colton said during the After the Final Rose ceremony that he hoped they would eventually end up engaged and married.

What happened between Colton Underwood and Cassie Randolph?

Colton and Cassie continued dating after filming stopped. Cassie moved to Los Angeles in 2019 to be closer to Colton, and the two regularly posted on Instagram about each other. In March 2020, Colton shared that he tested positive for COVID-19 and was quarantining at Cassie’s parents’ house. But things didn’t last between them. The couple announced in May 2020 that they had broken up. Colton said in a statement at the time that they were “meant to be friends.” Their relationship seemed less friendly months later when Cassie filed for a restraining order against Colton, accusing him of “stalking” and “harassing” her. Cassie later dismissed the restraining order, with Colton telling E! News, “the two of us were able to reach a private agreement to address any of Cassie’s concerns.” Colton also talked about their “excruciating” breakup in his book, The First Time, released in January 2021. In it, he said that Cassie admitted she was having reservations about their relationship after he recovered from COVID-19, and that things were strained between them for a while afterward. During an anniversary trip to St. Lucia, he said that it became clear that their relationship “was essentially over save for the three magic words: ‘We’re breaking up.’” Colton issued a public apology to Cassie during the GMA interview. “I’m sorry from the bottom of my heart. I’m sorry for any pain and emotional stress I caused,” he said, adding that he wished he would have been “courageous enough to fix myself before I broke anybody else.”

What other Bachelor shows was Colton Underwood on?

Colton made it to the final four of Becca Kufrin’s season of The Bachelorette. He was open about his virginity on the show and, ultimately, he and Becca weren’t right for each other. Colton later appeared on Bachelor in Paradise, where he dated former Bachelor star Tia Booth. Colton and Tia had dated before—their relationship was a plotline on Becca’s season of The Bachelor, with Becca questioning whether she wanted to date her friend’s ex. Becca eventually sent Colton home after Tia admitted that she still had feelings for Colton.

What happened between Colton Underwood and Tia Booth?

Tia and Colton sort of rekindled their relationship on Bachelor in Paradise. The two went on several dates and seemed like a sure bet, but Tia and fans accused Colton of stringing her along after he blindsided her with a midseason breakup and exit. Soon after the season aired, Colton was named The Bachelor. Colton later told the Los Angeles Times that producers told him he could become The Bachelor—if he went on Paradise and dated Tia. “Finally, at a rose ceremony, I looked over at her and I was like, ‘What am I doing to this poor girl? I need to be honest with myself. I can’t keep listening to producers saying ‘I need to give it a shot,’” he said. “I know in my heart of hearts that this isn’t for me and I probably never should have come here.’” Next, find out where The Bachelorette will be filming this season. 

Colton Underwood Admits He s Gay  Relive His Bachelor Season - 21