The Endless Love star, 57, appeared on Oprah Daily this week, where she spoke with Gayle King about ageism in today’s society. “I’m still in a career, I’m still working, I’m here and I was shocked by how unrepresented I was,” Shields said in a preview snippet of the interview jointly shared to both the Oprah Daily and Beginning is Now Instagram accounts. “You’re either 20s and sexy and fabulous or you’re in Depends and you’ve got dentures.” She continued to speak on a “vitality in the center” that exists for women in that age gap, adding that “from 40 on, we start living in our lives,” and appearing frustrated that after a certain age, women aren’t “marketed to.” “Once your ovaries stop working, you’re like, put out to pasture, and I was incensed by that,” Shields said. “For me, when I think about beginnings and beginning, I feel like it’s now. And I wanted women to be able to feel that, and feel not just permission, because we’re not asking for permission, but encouraged—to try new things, to say, ‘Look how long I’ve lived and look how much more I have.’” The actress is passionate about taking a different approach to aging, founding Beginning is Now, a growing, global community of women of all ages finding strength, wisdom, optimism, humor, and so much more in each other, in 2021. “At Beginning is Now, we see every new beginning as an opportunity to be embraced. We’ve spent our lives doing things by the book, and now we’re writing our own," reads a statement on the brand’s homepage. This isn’t the first time Shields has spoken on the hot topic. The actress appeared on the VeryWell Mind podcast in June to discuss the issue, advocating for women to break down stereotypes regarding aging and encouraging the idea of being excited about life at any age. More Pop Culture:

Dua Lipa Apologizes After Fans Suffer Injuries In Scary Incident During Concert

Nicki Minaj Navigates Being a Female Rapper in First Trailer for 6-Part Documentary

Gwyneth Paltrow Explains Why She Thinks Celebrity Kids Have to Work ‘Twice As Hard’