What was it like reminiscing through all those images? Jenna Fischer: It was wild. We all looked like babies. Especially MindyKaling and B.J. Novak, who were so young when the show started. The Office is a streaming and syndication top-performer. What makes it so rewatchable? JF: The show is so relatable. We all know a Dwight or an Angela or a Phyllis. Maybe it’s at work, at school or in our family. Angela Kinsey: The relationships are so strong—we’ve all had a crush on someone we know, and to watch Jim and Pam navigate that is so endearing. And the best stories are simple. Our show was about a group of everyday people at their 9-to-5 job. Because of the single-camera nature, we were able to have more patience with the comedy and let storylines play out. In the health care episode, for instance, you watch a group of people pick a health care plan—it’s simple, but hilarious. What’s the most cringeworthy episode? AK: It’s pretty hard to top “Scott’s Tots” [Michael Scott has to renege on a promise to pay for a class’s college tuition]. Also, “Double Date” in season six when Michael breaks up with Pam’s Mom at her birthday lunch in front of Pam! JF: “Prince Family Paper” [Michael and Dwight (RainnWilson) do recon on a family-run competitor]. That’s the one that gets me. And then several episodes later, Michael calls and gets the sad answering machine message saying the company has closed. Oof. Where are your characters today? JF: Pam I’m sure is living in Austin with Jim [and their children] CeCe and Phillip, and I like to imagine she’s painting murals and maybe has a successful Etsy shop. AK: Angela and Dwight and their children are enjoying their lives on the beet farm. I feel like Angela took over the accounting of the farm and runs a very tight ship. If you hosted a dinner party, who would you invite? JF:CreedBratton [who played a fictionalized version of himself] and EdHelms [Andy Bernard] because I would hope they would bring their guitar and banjo and play live. Listening to them play music is one of the things I miss most about being on set. How do you both differ from your characters? AK: Well, I have never met a stranger. I chat up everyone. I actually love meeting new people and learning about their lives. Angela Martin would never talk to a stranger—so there’s that. Also, I don’t own any gray turtlenecks or fluffy blouses with tons of tiny buttons. JF: Pam is very contained. She takes a long time to make moves. I’m more proactive. More ambitious. To what do you two credit your lengthy friendship? JF: Well, I credit Angela. She is an unwavering, steadfast friend. I also credit our similar upbringings. There is something about Angela that feels like home. She’s grounded. She’s also crazy funny. She makes me laugh. We see the book as not only a recounting of our time on The Office but a memoir of our best friendship. AK: I have said many times that Jenna is my “life anchor.” She is a loyal and faithful friend. She takes me where I am in life and gives me unconditional support. And she cracks me up. She makes me do that kind of laugh where you shake and make no sound and your eyes water. She is that funny. You have the Office Ladies podcast. How did you two come to the decision to dig in a little deeper and write a book? AK: The podcast is truly a rewatch of The Office series—each week we rewatch an episode and break down everything that happened. But in the book, we were able to share more personal stories of how we met and our journey as friends. The book is about our time on The Office and our story as best friends. JF: It all started as a big spring-cleaning project! We were cleaning out our garages and came across boxes and boxes of photos and memorabilia and journals we saved from our years on the show. I think me and Angela are some of the only people who had cameras on set for the pilot. NBC sent an official photographer to capture some posed photos, but I think we have the only candid photos from that time. This was before digital cameras and camera phones. And we had the idea to turn it all into a book. Next, How Well Do You Know The Office? Take Our Ultimate Quiz

Angela Kinsey and Jenna Fischer Share The Office s Most Cringeworthy Episodes  Where Their Characters Are Today and More - 76