To help you out if you’ve never planned a scavenger hunt before, we’ve compiled 50 great scavenger hunt clues below. Each one is a clue that leads whoever is reading it to a certain object in your house, where you can then place another clue. Some of the scavenger hunt clues are a little tricky, but that’s what makes the game fun. They’ll get you thinking, but put your brain to work. Check out our scavenger hunt clue ideas below. You can pick your favorites to include this time, and then use the rest for your next scavenger hunt game. Once you use up all of our scavenger hunt clues, create your own so you can play it again.

How to Plan a Scavenger Hunt

50 Scavenger Hunt Clues (and Answers!)

  1. I’m in the kitchen, and you’ll never eat me, but the dog sure loves to greet me. (dog food)
  2. Give me a tap and I’ll give you some suds, I come in handy especially when you’re covered in mud. (soap)
  3. I’ll protect you from the rain on a stormy day, but don’t forget to put me down, or I’ll blow away. (umbrella)
  4. I take the dirty and soak them until they are bright and clean, those grass stains and marks will no longer be seen. (washing machine)
  5. You’ll see your complexion in my reflection. (mirror)
  6. I have four legs, but I don’t have any feet. You use me when it’s time to eat. (kitchen table)
  7. Adding bubbles to me is fun. You usually get in me at night before your day is done. (bathtub)
  8. You let people in when you hear this bell. (doorbell)
  9. You pull me back in the morning to bring in the light and shut me when the sun goes down before you say goodnight. (curtains)
  10. When you get tired, have a seat. I’ll keep you cozy and get you off your feet. (chair)
  11. In the living room, it can be found. This flat screen houses color and sound. (TV)
  12. Turn out the lights in the room and go rest your head on me. I’ll help you fall fast asleep. (pillow)
  13. If you open me up and take a peek, inside you will find a frozen treat. (freezer)
  14. Zip me up before putting me on your back, I will keep your books and homework safe in my pack. (backpack)
  15. From this pot, your parents can drink a lot. (coffee pot)
  16. When I’m hungry feed me some bread, after I pop up all warm and toasty, bring on the butter to spread. (toaster)
  17. By the TV is where I can be found, thanks to my buttons I provide all the sound. (remote)
  18. Stepping out? Wear me first! I’ll protect your feet from the worst. (shoes)
  19. Tall and solid, all homes have me. To get me open, you’ll need a key. (front door)
  20. Most every day, you step on me. All I require is a bend of your knee. (steps) 25 Easter Egg Hunt Ideas
  21. For a movie, you will need to pop some corn. When it’s ready, the buzzer on me will warn. (microwave)
  22. You use knobs to make me turn colder or hotter. You’d never know it, but my head is full of water. (shower)
  23. A story, they say, can take you to a place far away. But a book still needs a place to stay. (bookshelf)
  24. I have a few drawers and a nice flat top. For homework I’m helpful — Keep working. Don’t stop! (desk)
  25. I have a ring, but no finger. Sometimes I die, but if you charge me up, I’ll be revived. (cell phone)
  26. You use me in your hair to get out the dirt. If I get in your eyes it might hurt. (shampoo)
  27. I love eating grass and while I can run with electric, I prefer using gas. (lawnmower)
  28. One sheet, two sheets, three sheets, four. Some people use less and some use more. (toilet paper)
  29. I have a neck but no head, I wear a pretty cap instead. (bottle)
  30. I start with an “e,” and I end with an “e,” but I contain only one letter. (envelope)
  31. My keys make a sound and sometimes they can be very, very loud. (piano)
  32. I have no mouth and no nose, but I do have a face. I also have two hands and, but no legs and or toes. (clock)
  33. You can find me on a hook, if you know where exactly to look. (keys)
  34. I hold your junk and am not neat, you will often find me on the street. (trash can)
  35. Back and forth I take you, higher and higher you fly. I am much better than a slide. You’ll find me in your front or back yard, outside. (swing)
  36. When the wind blows, I wave to you. Sometimes I am red, white and blue. (flag)
  37. My job is to put an end to your morning sleep, which I do with music, a buzz, or a beep. (alarm clock)
  38. Stiff is my spine and my body is pale, but I’m always ready to tell a tale. (storybook)
  39. I can take you to places you’ve never seen, but first, type your password in on my screen. (computer)
  40. I’m never wicked, but I do have a wick. I come in all sizes, ranging from skinny to thick. (candle)
  41. I’m packed really full of boxes and cans. I may hold a broom or a mop or a dustpan. (pantry)
  42. I never get angry, but I do get hot. I’m the perfect place to place a pan or a pot. (stove)
  43. I make it possible to have fresh food. Everyone agrees I’m one cool dude. (fridge)
  44. People sleep in this room when they come from far away, I’ve got a bed and am a great place to stay. (guest room)
  45. I can be placed on the side of the couch or the side of your bed, I can come in all kinds of colors, like brown, black or even red. (side table)
  46. Turn me on when it’s dark at night. My brightness beats out candlelight. (lamp) 47. This is a house that’s built for a car. I even have a huge door that lifts up so you can get inside. (garage) 48. You will find me laying on the floor, welcoming you at the door. (welcome mat)
  47. Inside here you will find coats and shoes. Keep me organized so you know whose are whose. (closet) 50. Dishes go in me dirty but come out sparkly and clean. (dishwasher) Check out…125 Trick Questions (with Answers!)101 Trivia Questions for Kids
50 Creative Scavenger Hunt Clues   Riddles  with Answers  - 56